College Crest

The RACGP Curriculum for Australian General Practice 2016

Download the Curriculum

Curriculum coverThe complete 2016 Curriculum consists of a number of units in addition to contextual units. All units will be available for download as a PDF shortly.

PDF download2016 Curriculum (2MB)

Learning life of general practitioners

Examining the steps to becoming a GP qualified for unsupervised practise in Australia helps define training needs at each stage of the path to becoming a competent GP.

Prior to entering general practice vocational training, medical practitioners will already have had many years of training by a range of individuals, organisations and institutions. A uniform general practice curriculum from the earliest stage of medical education helps support trainers. This forms a solid foundation for general practice training.

Learning life stages

There are three key stages in the learning life of the GP

  1. Pre-general practice
  2. General practice under supervision
  3. General practice – lifelong learning

The outcomes and criteria listed for each of the 3 stages are designed for that particular stage and recognise that competence and mastery take time and are often incremental. The assumption is that each stage leads to the next and that the second and third stages incorporate what was covered and learned in the one or ones before it. 

The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) ABN 34 000 223 807
RACGP House, 100 Wellington Parade, East Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Tel: +61 (3) 8699 0414 Fax: +61 (3) 8699 0400

Terms and conditions  Copyright Statement